To QualityTM

The Indiana Accreditation Project provides financial and technical assistance for early care and education and school age facilities wishing to initiate, complete and maintain Path to QUALITYTM Level 4 and national accreditation.


Paths to QUALITY™ is a free resource to help parents make decisions regarding childcare and to help childcare programs improve the quality of care offered.

Paths to QUALITY™ is Indiana’s voluntary quality rating and improvement system for childcare. This system is the first and only childcare rating system in the state!

When choosing childcare, search for programs that voluntarily participate in Paths to QUALITY™. These special programs demonstrate a commitment to providing high quality care for children. Paths to QUALITY™ eligible programs include licensed childcare centers, licensed family childcare homes, and unlicensed registered ministries who have met voluntary certification standards.

Better childcare. Brighter futures for Indiana!

Paths to QUALITY™ or PTQ encourages early care and education professionals to enhance their business by providing knowledge, training, and guidance in providing higher quality care.

It identifies four levels of high-quality care and establishes the requirements to meet those levels

It provides incentives to advance to the next level of care

It provides a referral system that helps parents locate participating Paths to QUALITY™ providers like you

Best of all, Paths to QUALITY™ is a free resource. For more information on Paths to Quality™ visit You can participate using our easy, self-guided workbook. Once you’re in, you can use the available Toolkit for materials to help promote your business.

Quality experiences that promote children’s healthy growth and development are provided at each level of Paths to QUALITY™. As early care and education professionals move from one level to the next, these opportunities increase.

Starting with meeting basic health and safety needs at Level One and topping out with national accreditation at Level Four, each quality level is tailored to suit the needs of licensed centers, family childcare homes, unlicensed registered ministries, and public schools. The system awards professionals for ongoing efforts to achieve higher standards of quality.

Level 1 – Health and Safety
Level 1 programs have demonstrated that they are operating in good standing and have been recognized by the state of Indiana as having met all required health and safety standards.

Level 2 – Learning Environments
Level 2 programs have demonstrated a commitment to improve program quality. They offer opportunities for children to advance their growth and development. Level 2 programs will have evidence of a consistent daily schedule, planned activities for children, and will provide relevant program information for families.

Level 3 – Planned Curriculum
Level 3 programs have demonstrated the knowledge and skill necessary for planning appropriate activities and opportunities that lead children toward school readiness.
Level 3 programs have made a significant investment in the professional development of the staff, and they incorporate family and staff input into the program.

Level 4 – National Accreditation
Level 4 programs are the highest rated programs and have demonstrated a commitment to the highest level of professionalism in high quality child care—achievement of a nationally recognized accreditation. Level 4 programs are managed by a provider or director who has volunteered to provide mentoring to others in the field.

Click below to begin a free online search for childcare

dark green Indiana Child Care Search button

Join Our Newsletter